Helpful agents are standing by: (888) 973-0178
Press play below to listen to our audio commercial:

Auto Insurance Laws That Concerns DUI And DWI

Over the years, many accidents have been as a result of drivers driving under the influence in America. The American bureau of statistics has it that accidents caused by drunken drivers are responsible for one person dying every 22 minutes. Such statistics have made Auto Insurance Laws to be very stringent on cases of DUIs and DWIs. Numerous lives have been lost or affected and millions of dollars lost over the years as a result of drivers under the Influence.

As a result, laws all over the United States on Driving Under the Influence have been made tougher and carry very stiff penalties for the perpetrators found guilty. The first law on DUI and DWI was passed in 1910 in New York and was soon followed by the state of California and soon the rest of the states followed making laws on DUI common all over the States. However, not all laws are the same and neither do they carry the same penalties but they do carry the same message which is Driving Under The Influence is outlawed and carries stiff penalties.

From 1910 to around 1930, the law against drunk driving was sort of broad spectrum and did not define clear guidelines on the levels and penalties of DUI. It basically affirmed that no one was allowed to drive when intoxicated. Later in the 30s, the national safety council and the American medical association carried out studies on the effects, causes and possible solutions to Driving Under the Influence. The national safety council carried out research on determining intoxication levels while the American medical association did studies on the major causes of road carnage.

The two institutions later in 1938 combined their findings and came up with a unanimous solution. Their solution was that no driver was to be allowed to drive with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Content) level exceeding 0.15 percent. These findings were entrenched in the Auto Insurance Laws and have been in place ever since. Anyone found driving with an intoxication limit of more than 0.15 percent has since then been charged in a court of law with an offence. However, this limit of 0.015 percent is the highest all over the States since some states have revised the law to set lower limits.

This is because many private organizations have been putting pressure on legislators to tighten the restrictions on drunk driving. One very vocal organization is the Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) which was the first to champion for stiffer laws against drunk drivers. In order to ascertain a drivers BAC level, they are required to submit to a breath test that is take by a breathalyzer. Each state has set its own BAC level according to its laws. If the breathalyzer shows that the driver’s BAC level is above the limit set by the law of the state, their driver’s license is suspended pending further investigation.

Auto Insurance Laws are very clear and strict when it comes to Driving Under The Influence and it is best for citizens to keep themselves informed thusly. Enter your Zip at the top of this page to find out more on DUI laws in your state.